The Longing for Less: Living with Minimalism

23 February 2020 | By Kyle Chayka | Filed in: philosophy.

More than just a story of an abiding cultural preoccupation, The Longing For Less peels back the commodified husk of minimalism to reveal something surprising and thoroughly alive Jenny Odell, author of How to Do Nothing Thoughtful and absorbing A superb outing from a gifted young critic

The Age of Entitlement: America Since the Sixties

23 February 2020 | By Christopher Caldwell | Filed in: philosophy.

A major American intellectual makes the historical case that the reforms of the 1960s, reforms intended to make the nation just and humane, instead left many Americans feeling alienated, despised, misled and ready to put an adventurer in the White House.Christopher Caldwell has spent years

How to Live a Good Life: A Guide to Choosing Your Personal Philosophy

23 February 2020 | By Massimo Pigliucci | Filed in: philosophy.

A collection of essays by fifteen philosophers presenting a thoughtful, introductory guide to choosing a philosophy for living an examined and meaningful life A VINTAGE ORIGINAL Socrates famously said the unexamined life is not worth living, but what does it mean to truly live

Why You Should Be a Socialist

23 February 2020 | By Nathan J. Robinson | Filed in: philosophy.

A primer on Democratic Socialism for those who are extremely skeptical of it America is witnessing the rise of a new generation of socialist activists More young people support socialism now than at any time since the labor movement of the 1920s The Democratic Socialists of America, a big tent

Nietzsche and the Burbs

23 February 2020 | By Lars Iyer | Filed in: philosophy.

This highly anticipated followup to the acclaimed Wittgenstein Jr finds a young Nietzsche experiencing the excitements and the humiliations of finals season in a modern high school When a new student transfers in from private school, his public school peers nickname him Nietzsche thanks to his

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse

23 February 2020 | By Charlie Mackesy | Filed in: philosophy.

The Sunday Times Bestseller and New York Times Bestseller You will not be able to buy a beautiful book for Christmas for somebody you love Chris Evans A book of hope for uncertain times Enter the world of Charlie s four unlikely friends, discover their story and their most important life

When Breath Becomes Air

23 February 2020 | By Paul Kalanithi | Filed in: philosophy.

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living At the age of thirty six, on the verge of completing a

Make Your Bed: Little Things That Can Change Your Life...And Maybe the World

23 February 2020 | By William H. McRaven | Filed in: philosophy.

Listening Length 1 hour and 53 minutes If you want to change the world, start off by making your bed On May 17, 2014, Admiral William H McRaven addressed the graduating class of the University of Texas at Austin on their Commencement day Taking inspiration from the university s slogan, What

Unfu*k Yourself: Get Out of Your Head and Into Your Life

23 February 2020 | By Gary John Bishop | Filed in: philosophy.

Have you ever felt like a hamster on a wheel, furiously churning your way through life but somehow going nowhere It seems like there s a barrage of information surrounding us in our everyday lives with the keys to this thing or that thing, be it wealth, success, happiness or purpose The truth is,

Can't Hurt Me: Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds

23 February 2020 | By David Goggins | Filed in: philosophy.

For David Goggins, childhood was a nightmare poverty, prejudice, and physical abuse colored his days and haunted his nights But through self discipline, mental toughness, and hard work, Goggins transformed himself from a depressed, overweight young man with no future into a U.S Armed Forces icon

On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century

23 February 2020 | By Timothy Snyder | Filed in: philosophy.

A historian of fascism offers a guide for surviving and resisting America s turn towards authoritarianism On November 9th, millions of Americans woke up to the impossible the election of Donald Trump as president Against all predictions, one of the most disliked presidential candidates in history

The Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well

23 February 2020 | By Meik Wiking | Filed in: philosophy.

Denmark is often said to be the happiest country in the world That s down to one thing hygge Hygge has been translated as everything from the art of creating intimacy to cosiness of the soul to taking pleasure from the presence of soothing things My personal favourite is cocoa by